Planning Commission


The Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members, who shall be appointed by the Governing Body for three (3) year terms commencing on the second Monday in January, pursuant to K.S.A 12-744. The Community Development Director shall serve as the Secretary of the Planning Commission. The Planning Commission shall be organized in the manner and have the powers and duties provided by K.S.A. 12-741 et seq, and the Zoning Code, as adopted herein.

The Board of Zoning Appeals shall consist of the seven members of the Planning Commission, all of whom shall by appointed by the Mayor by and with the consent of the City Commission. None of the members shall hold any other public office of the City except as members of the Planning Commission. The members shall serve their terms simultaneously with their terms on the Planning Commission. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term. The members shall serve without compensation. The Board shall annually elect one of its members as Chair, one as vice-chair, and shall appoint a Secretary who may be an officer or an employee of the City. The Board shall also adopt rules in accordance with the provisions of the City Code. Meetings of the Board shall be held at the call of the Chair and at such other times as the Board may determine. The Board shall keep minutes of its proceedings, showing evidence presented, findings of fact by the Board, decisions of the Board and the vote upon each question. Records of all official action of the Board shall be filed in the office of the City Clerk and shall be a public record.

Duties of the Planning Commission

Abilene has a seven-member Planning Commission which makes decisions and recommendations regarding the Comprehensive Plan, zoning changes, plats, conditional use permits, development code changes and other applications are required. The Planning Commission is also charged with the following responsibilities as they act as the Board of Zoning Appeals:

  • Hear and decide on applications for a variance from the provisions of the zoning and subdivision ordinance;
  • Hear and decide on applications for an appeal of an administrative interpretation of the zoning ordinance; and
  • Conduct other business specifically assigned to the Board of Zoning Appeals by ordinance, City Commission order or State statute.

Current Members and Term

  • Travis Sawyer (Chair) 2025
  • Bill Marshall (Vice Chair) 2026
  • Helen Rose 2024
  • Matt Mead 2024
  • Brenda Finn Bowers 2025
  • Rod Boyd 2026

Additional Resource Information

Meeting and Contact Information

The Planning Commission meets on the 1st Tuesday of each month at 4:00 pm in the Commission Room at the Abilene Public Library. 

Find Agenda and Minutes

For more information, or if you have questions please feel free to contact Kari Zook, Community Development Director.