Click to Home

Go To Search
Heritage Commission
Heritage Commission Overview
The Heritage Commission shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Governing Body for three (3) year terms.  The Heritage Commission shall be organized in the manner and have the powers and duties provided by Section 29 of the Zoning Code.  It shall not be a requirement to reside within the city limits of Abilene, Kansas to serve on said commission, however, the majority of said commission should reside within the city limits of Abilene, Kansas. (Ord. 2922 11/00)

Heritage Commission Duties
HC Webpage Photo 1.jpg
The City of Abilene has a 7-member appointed Heritage Commission.  The Heritage Commission performs the following functions.

  • Administers the local Historic Preservation Ordinance to include the issuance of Certificates of Appropriateness for improvements made to local landmarks; Reviews applications for local landmark designation; and serves as a Certified Local Government to conduct state law reviews of state and nationally listed properties on behalf of the State of Kansas. 
  • Educates the public on wise preservation practices, programs and incentives for preservation;  the economic benefits of historic preservation.
  • Reviews and makes recommendations on applications to the National Register of Historic Places; and
  • Maintains a historic resources inventory

Current Members and terms
Name Term
Phil Hamilton 2022 VACANT 2020 VACANT 2020 Joanne Miles 2022 Nanc Scholl (Chair) 2021 Duane Schrag (Vice-Chair) 2020 Mary Burtzloff 2021

Meeting and Contact Information
The Heritage Commission meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 4 pm in the meeting room at the Dwight D. Eisenhower Memorial Building.

For more information or questions regarding the Heritage Commission please feel free to contact:

Kara Titus

Historic Preservation Documents
NE Corner of 2nd and Spruce_thumb.JPG
The following forms are associated with the activities of the Heritage Commission.

Zoning Ordinance, Section 29 - Historic Conservation District;
Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation;
Downtown Abilene Historic District Nomination;
Abilene Downtown Historic District, by James Holland, Sally Schwenk and Kerry Davis

Trolley Along
With Abilene
City of Abilene
P.O. Box 519
Abilene, Kansas 67410
Phone: 785-263-2550
Fax: 785-263-2532
1st Combined Arms Battalion
63rd Armor Regiment