Go To Search
Planning Commission
The Planning Commission shall consist of seven (7) members, who shall be appointed by the Governing Body for three (3) year terms commencing on the first day of May, pursuant to K.S.A 12-744.  The Zoning Administrator shall serve as the Secretary of the Planning Commission.  The Planning Commission shall be organized in the manner and have the powers and duties provided by K.S.A. 12-741 et seq, and the Zoning Code, as adopted herein.

Planning Commission Duties
Abilene has a 7 member Planning Commission which makes decisions and recommendations regarding the Comprehensive Plan, zoning changes, plats, conditional use permits, development code changes and other applications are required.  

Membership and Terms
Name Term 

Rod Boyd 2020 Michelle Stephens 2020 VACANT 2020 Robin Black 2021 Jennifer Green 2021 Brenda Finn Bowers (Vice-Chair) 2022 Travis Sawyer (Chair) 2022

Meeting and Contact Information
The Planning Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 4:30 pm in the Commission Room at the Abilene Public Library.  They may also hold a study session prior to the meeting at 4:00 pm as needed.

For more information or questions regarding the Planning Commission please feel free to contact:


Connect with Us
City of Abilene
P.O. Box 519
Abilene, Kansas 67410
Phone: 785-263-2550
Fax: 785-263-2532
1st Combined Arms Battalion
63rd Armor Regiment