Heritage Commission


The Heritage Commission shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Governing Body for three (3) year terms. The Heritage Commission shall be organized in the manner and have the powers and duties provided by Section 29 of the Zoning Regulations. The membership of the Heritage Commission may include not more than three (3) members who reside outside of the city limits of Abilene, Kansas. The remaining members shall reside within the city limits of Abilene, Kansas. (Ord. 22-3416)

Duties of the Heritage Commission

  • Administers the local Historic Preservation Ordinance to include the issuance of Certificates of Appropriateness for improvements made to local landmarks; Reviews applications for local landmark designation; and serves as a Certified Local Government to conduct state law reviews of state and nationally listed properties on behalf of the State of Kansas.
  • Educates the public on wise preservation practices, programs and incentives for preservation; the economic benefits of historic preservation.
  • Reviews and makes recommendations on applications to the National Register of Historic Places; and
  • Maintains a local historic resources inventory

Current Members and Term

  • Andrew Pankratz (Chair) 2026
  • Barry Arp (Vice Chair) 2026
  • Mary Burtzloff 2024
  • Nanc Scholl 2024
  • Nicole Beck 2025
  • Jeff Radabaugh 2025
  • Kevin Bailey 2026

Meeting and Contact Information

The Heritage Commission meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 4 p.m. in the commission room at the Abilene Public Library.

Find Agenda and Minutes

For more information, or if you have questions please feel free to contact Kari Zook, Community Development Director.

Historic Preservation Resources

When preparing for a project on a historic structure, there are a few resources that can help ensure compliance with all historic preservation laws.